IBlack

wp-image-92992213

Black, Black is the brown color of my skin
Yes, the brown color of my skin is black
This is exactly what I said
But Black means more than just the color of my skin
IBlack

Black, Black is my history
My history before the Trans-Atlantic slave trade
My history during slavery
My history after slavery
IBlack

Black, Black is my culture
The cultures my ancestors brought with them
The cultures they created here
The traditions within these cultures
WeBlack

Black, Black is our vernacular
Black is the way our ancestors created the new languages overseas
Black is your Creole, your Saamaka
Your Patois, your Gullah, your Papiamentu
Your Sranan, your Ndjuka
Our ancestors created many more languages
WeBlack

Black, Black is the way I was taught to be
To be proud of my skin, to be proud of my culture
To be proud of our history, to be proud of me
Black is more than the color of my skin
To be Black is to be you, is to be me
WeBlack, IBlack !

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑